The Three Gunas – Qualities of Human Temperament

Yoga suggests that there are three major qualities of human temperament:

Tamas Dullness Aversion, sloth, ignorance, inertia, and depression.
Rajas Excitement Desire, reaction, restlessness, over-excitement, and mania.
Sattva Balance Holistic health, integration, consistency, mind, intelligence, sanity, and wisdom.

Influence of the Three Qualities upon the seven chakras


The proportion of gunas within our system is dependent upon our holistic diet – the health and input into our system through each chakra.

For self development purposes we aim for a holistically sattvic diet.

The influence of the gunas upon the chakras produces our holistic behavior.

The primary ways in which our chakras are influenced by the gunas are:


Material from ( 10 Jun 2011):


About BVG Janaka dasa das

The counsellor, trainer and lecturer of Balanced and Healthy lifestyle, body, art, music, trance etc philosophy, psychology and psychotherapy. The leader of personal development and team building groups and private practice of psychotherapy.
This entry was posted in Sattva, Raja, Tama gunas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please kindly share with us Your Feelings, Thoughts, Feedback...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s